Rooftop gallery – 1.2 km for front and back view
The former Airport Tempelhof is a place, which a story of its own in essence and radiates it to the visitors in a unique way. As the monumental NS structure was built from 1936 to 1942, it served as a base for the US Air Force from 1945 to 1993 and was famous as the symbol of freedom in connection with the airlift in the years 1948/49. Civil aviation began here in 1951, which was discontinued in the year 2008.
In order to make the eventful past of the Tempelhof airport, its present and future plans more lively, the ideal place was quickly found: the gigantic 1.2 km long roof. There is place equivalent to ten football fields in the 60,000m² area. Every position offers a spectacular view of the former airfield and the city. According to the plans of the architect Ernst Sagebiel, the roof serves as a stand for up to 80,000 people with publicly accessible areas with restaurants, cafés and visitor terraces. However this plan was never implemented.
The current plan provides a rooftop gallery in the back area of the access balcony, which stretches across the length of the entire roof. A sketch for this plan is currently being developed.
Moreover, the building offers a number of special places, which are unique “contemporary witnesses” and are accessible by means of the project. The rooftop gallery is hence the link between the future tourist highlights such as Roof terrace on western main building or Museum in hangar 7.